Beauty Review – Current Spring Fixes

Beauty Review – Current Spring Fixes

(Stay tuned for future makeup looks featuring the above Makeup Forever HD Microfinish Pressed Powder and Second Skin Cream Blush in 220)

The thing I probably love most when it comes to seasonal changes, is the shift in wardrobe and beauty rituals.  While addressing new climate conditions can sometimes be more of a drag than fun and experimental (especially if you’re prone to acne, eczema, or allergies), new palettes and updated hues never cease to lift my mood.  This spring, it’s all about embracing a softer, dewey, youthful look.  Bring on the glosses, the highlighters, the fuss-free hair, and the total look of hydration and health.

If there is one thing motherhood has me paranoid about, it’s looking like a “mommy”.  I still want to be me.  As simple and distressed as that may become.  My plan of action for spring/summer 2014?  Light, fresh, and minimal.  Beauty tools to fake my revival until I genuinely feel it.

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 10.04.40 PM

The Sephora Pantone collection (paying homage to colour of the year – Radiant Orchid), is simply stunning.  Where I would normally shy away from too-bright/unnatural blush hues, the gorgeous trio palette allowed me to blend, play, and apply/accept a rather daring shade whose surprising subtlety I would have otherwise overlooked.  This cool undertone powder is the perfect pairing for grey eyeshadows, liners, and blue-tinted lip colours.  Too much violet for your signature shades?  Neutralize and buff it out with the included highlighter tones (I love them both as eyeshadows too).  There is something so new about this shade as a blush – a great spring facial reincarnation.

Additionally, the balm of the collection makes for a minty, matching hydrator.  While I caution you not to apply this as you would a lipstick (it’s formula is much to soft to not break as a stick), it goes on beautifully if you crush it down a bit and rub into lips with clean fingertips.  Matte shine, beautiful pastel sheer hue, and enjoyable smell.  If you’re a balm girl, be sure to pick this little pleasantry up.

I’ve grown to become a huge fan of the Sephora home-brand brushes.  Not only do their sets come packaged as great collectibles, the brushes themselves are stellar.  I’ve been stuck on the vegan leather case (perfect for travel) and Stippling brush included in this set.  This assortment could not be closer to a direct curation of my favourite and most used brushes amongst my current repertoire.  One of the few kits out there where I’d make use of every single pick included (a very rare occurrence if you know anything of how picky I am when it comes to consumerism!).  Great gift, great buy, great updated add.

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 3.57.40 PM

Biotherm seems to be everywhere these days, and while I’m still very partial to spending my beauty dollars on natural alternatives, this line definitely delivers the hydration it promises.  I love the fresh smell (however synthetic), and the textures are truly interestingly innovative (with a little shimmer thrown in for good measure).  I’ve been using this trio now for about a month, and my sensitive and acne-prone skin has only improved.  Creates a beautiful canvas for makeup, keeps skin matte and oil-free throughout the day, and gives me great assurance that these three products could really beat the summer humidity heat.  Tempted to slow down my use with them to test that theory,  but not sure they’ll make it that long in my beauty cabinet (I’ve kind of grown addicted to their gel-like consistency, and just-out-of-the-shower scents).  Perfect springtime transitionals to try once the weather warms up and your complexion goes berserk.

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 3.56.09 PM

I’m not allowed to use anything cleansing, detoxing, anti-oxidizing, or draining at the moment due to my preggo status, but Lierac’s Body-Slim concoction promises to fight cellulite at a 96% success rate.  I’ll be giving that a go on my thighs this summer to drain out all the sweets I’ve craved and consumed so much over the past nine months.

What I’m really loving is LUSH’s bubble bar in Rose Jam (lemon, rose, geranium, coconut, and shea oil), and their Fresh Farmacy calamine facial soap (with elderflower, chamomile, and lavender) for oily/sensitive skin.

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 3.55.55 PM

Top: Marc Jacobs Daisy Eau So Fresh Delights – Blood Orange, Pink Pepper, White Tea, Tiare Tahiti, Violet, Raspberry, Apricot Skin, Musk, Amber

Middle: See by Chloe Eau Fraiche – Water Hyacinth, Apple Blossom Accord, Bright Jasmine, Vetiver, Musk

Bottom: Marc Jacobs Daisy Delights – Apple, Quince Flower, Feesia, Iris, Gardenia, Peony, Musks, Cedarwood, Sandalwood

With spring, comes perfume upgrades and switcheroos.  I’m a big musk fan, but when humidity and stuffiness hits, the heaviness can be downright suffocating.  These Daisy by Marc Jacobs variations and See by Chloe (Eau Fraiche) spritzes are light, floral, and accented with my favourite fruits.

Screen Shot 2014-03-10 at 3.53.18 PM

Craving the beach in the middle of the snowstorm?  Steam up your bathroom and get tropical with these coconut and shea concoctions by Marc Anthony.  Wonderfully hydrating and reminiscent of both sunscreen and pina coladas, this fun sulfate-free trio (shampoo, conditioner, and leave in hair oil) will be an instant favourite if you already love the classic Polynesian scent of Monoi oil.  My guests and man have taking quite a liking to these guys (and as a result, are disappearing fast!).

What have you not been able to get enough of beauty-wise?

xox

Tags Posted under cosmetics, Lifestyle, makeup, My Makeup, organic, product review, skincare, Uncategorized by

Share your comment

Name Your Message
Email Website * We know you have something to say